At One With Nature. Ouch!

hummingbirdThe sun is shining but the weather-stick is pessimistic. The bugs are out in force today. The air is full of all kinds of winged insects, wasps, mosquitoes, bees, moths, no-see-ums.

The only way to sit by the pond is either to wear my mesh top and pants (far too hot for that) or to put up the screen tent I bought last year. I don’t like putting it up as the blue frame just doesn’t blend with the natural surroundings.

On the other hand, bugs – especially the biting kind – seem to be irresistibly drawn to me andbank of day lilies I react very badly to bites. Last year a bite made my eyelid swell so terrifyingly that I ended up in Emergency at the local hospital.

Inside my screen tent, I spread out first a camping tarpaulin and then my yoga mat. I drop down, cross my ankles, close my eyes. The splashing of the frog fountain, a blast of music from a big party at the neighbours on one side, the buzz of a lawnmower on the other, a hearty burp from a frog, the hum of the pump for the bubble tubing that circulates oxygen in the pond… Ah, at one with nature. Breathe in-two-three-four, hold-two-three-four…

I leap to my feet. My left buttock is stinging. The ants have not taken kindly to my invasion of their territory. I smear great gobs of ointment over the bites. Ouch! Ouch! Ouch!grasshopper

What do you think?

