Nature’s Course

garter snake

garter snake

Did I see two garter snakes? Or the same snake twice? The first was under the pump cover. It was small and wriggled away in an instant.

The other (or the same one) slithered over the patio as I was trying to clean some of the mossy paving stones. This one looked bigger – or was that because I saw more of it?

An agitated squeaking from the edge of the pond. The grasses rustled and I caught sight of another snake – with a tiny frog in its mouth. More squeaking. I know I shouldn’t interfere with the course of nature but I stamped my foot, hoping that would frighten the snake off.

The snake leaped right into the air, tiny frog still in its mouth, landing in the pond. It rippled over the surface of the water towards the outlet. By the time it slid over the rocks, red tongue was flickering in and out, the frog was gone.

What do you think?

